Distillery District

distillery_site_plan

The Distillery District of Toronto lies at the bottom of Parliament Street south of Front Street, east of the financial district and west of the Don Valley. The 13-acre area is the former site of the Gooderham and Worts Distillery. The neighbourhood contains more than 40 heritage buildings and 10 streets, and is the largest collection of Victorian-era industrial architecture in North America. The district was designated a National Historic Site of Canada in 1988. The area is nothing like a dry museum, though. Its lively and charming cobblestone streets are closed to vehicular traffic and encompass a solid concentration of artist’s studios and galleries, boutiques and high-end retailers.

As of May 2014

G & W sign

 

Gristmill Lane

Pikto 20 Gristmill Lane  Photobooks, workshops and a great gallery.416-203-3443  www.pikto.com 

Distillery Market 30 Gristmill Lane  Small scale grocery store.416-601-2122

Segway Of Ontario 30 Gristmill Lane  Segway sales, rentals and tours.Bike rentals.416-642-0008 www.segwayofontario.com

Greg’s Ice Cream 32 Gristmill Lane  Premium, all-natural ice cream. 416-961-4734 www.gregsicecream.com

Sport Gallery, The 46 Gristmill Lane  Gallery specializing in sports photography. 416-861-8514 www.thesportgallery.com

A Taste Of Quebec 52 Gristmill Lane  A gallery/boutique featuring the best of Quebec artisans specializing in ceramics, wood, glass and jewellery. 416-364-5020 www.atasteofquebec.com

Tank House Lane

Corkin Gallery 7 Tank House Lane  One of Canada’s premier galleries. with over ten thousand square feet of space and an impressive roster of influential artists. 416-979-1980 www.corkingallery.com

Biltmore Domicile 11 Tank House Lane  Custom sofas and sectionals plus a selection of reclaimed wood furniture.. 416-360-7632 www.bdom.ca

Pure Spirits Oyster House 17 Tank House Lane 416-361-5859 www.purespirits.ca

Mill Street Brewpub 21 Tank House Lane 416-681-0338 www.millstreetbrewpub.ca

Distill 24 Tank House Lane, Suite 103  Handmade works form Canadian artisans. 416-304-0033 www.distillgallery.com

Blossom Lounge 24 Tank House Lane, Suite 101 416-777-1744 www.blossomlounge.com

Jacob & Sebastian 27 Tank House Lane 647-405-8930 www.jacobandsebastian.com

Bergo Designs 28 Tank House Lane  Sprawling giftware store featuring items curated from well-known industrial designers. 416-861-1821 www.bergo.ca

Soma Chocolatemaker 32 Tank House Lane  Well, really, is there anything negative to be said about artisan chocolate? 416 815 7662 www.somachocolate.com

Soulpepper Theatre Company 50 Tank House Lane One of the most well-respected theatre companies in Toronto. 416-203-6264 www.soulpepper.ca

Young Centre For The Performing Arts 50 Tank House Lane  416-866-8666 www.youngcentre.ca

Tank house lane sign

 

Distillery Lane

Arta Gallery 14 Distillery Lane 416-364-2782 www.artagallery.ca

Hastens Beds Canada 18 Distillery Lane Have you ever wanted a glamorous circular bed? You’ll find it at Hastings. 416-619-4480 www.hastens.com/en

Thompson Landry Gallery 32 Distillery Lane 416-364-4955 www.thompsonlandry.com

Mill Street

Artemide 5 Mill Street Lighting store. 416-628-6718 www.artemide.ca

Julie M. Gallery 15 Mill Street, Toronto 416-603-2626 www.juliemgallery.com

Ontario Spring Water Sake Company 55 Mill Street  Sake brewery using traditional Japanese methods and recipes with delicious Ontario spring water. The retail store store features a tasting bar with high ceilings and old limestone walls. 416-365-7253 www.ontariosake.com

green window

 

Trinity Street

Tappo Restaurant + Wine Bar 2 Trinity Street 647-430-1111 www.tappo.ca

John Fluevog Shoes 4 Trinity Street Unique, Canadian designed men’s and women’s shoes. www.fluevog.com

Corktown Jewellery Designs 5 Trinity Street Lots of original artisan jewelery and small accessory lines. 416-861-3020 www.corktowndesigns.com

Thompson Landry Cooperage Gallery 6 Trinity Street 416-364-4955
www.thompsonlandry.com

Sound Designs 7 Trinity Street Customized home sound systems.416-364-4800 www.sounddesigns.ca

Reiner’s Originals (inside Sound Design)  7 Trinity Street Charming leather animal ottomans. Perfect for the family room and surprisingly durable. 519-746-7391 www.reiners.ca

Cabinet 10 Trinity Street 416-923-9234 www.cabinetfurniture.ca

Blackbird Vintage Finds 11 Trinity Street Too many cool finds to list and always something different every time. 416-681-0558

Lileo 12 Trinity Street 416-413-1410 www.lileo.ca

Crescendo Oils & Vinegars 13 Trinity Street 416-214-9555 www.crescendocanada.com

HOI BO 15 Trinity Street Interesting waxed canvas handbags. 647-852-5488 www.HOIBO.com

Stirling Room 16 Trinity Street 416-364-3900 www.stirlingroom.com

Jessica Rose Designs 17 Trinity Street Ladies wear; draped, comfortable dresses. 647-338-7613 shop.jessicarosedesign.com

Gentil Uomo 19 Trinity Street Gentlemen’s fashions. 416-214-0008 www.gentiluomo.ca

Gotstyle Distillery 21 Trinity Street Well-known west Queen west men’s retailer has expanded to include women’s clothes. 416-260-9696  www.gotstylemenswear.com

Brick Street Bakery 27 Trinity Street 416-214-4949 www.brickstreetbakery.ca

Archeo 31 Trinity Street 416-815-9898 www.archeo.ca

Distillery clock

Case Goods Lane

Mini Mioche 6 Case Goods Lane  Organic, eco-conscious and Canadian made children’s clothing. www.minimioche.com

Caffe Furbo 12 Case Goods Lane 416-833-6560  www.caffefurbo.com

Mint Boutique 6 Rack House Mews 416-368-6468 www.mintboutique.ca

Spectacle 18 Rack House Mews 416-484-9000 www.spectaclelovesyou.com

 

%d bloggers like this: